23 June 2014

EYIF’s Founder and President is the 2014 Innovation Luminary – Young Innovation Champion!

InnovationLuminaryAwards2014-144 (1)

Kumardev Chatterjee, Founder and President, European Young Innovators Forum, has been awarded as an Innovation Luminary – Young Innovation Champion by the European Commission and Intel, at the 2014 Innovation Luminary awards ceremony hosted at the Dublin City Hall on 11 June. The gala award dinner took place the evening before the Open Innovation 2.0 conference.

The second annual European Innovation Leadership Awards celebrated the leaders of improving society through innovation. The awards were launched during the Irish EU Presidency. The goal of the awards, fostered by the EU Open Innovation Strategy and Policy Group, is to highlight role-models who can inspire aspitring innovative entrepreneurs. The award recognises Kumardev’s Innovation leadership and the high-impact achievements of EYIF, in changing the mindset for innovation in Europe and encouraging the youth to become less risk-averse and more entrepreneurial.

All the winners become founding members of the Innovation Luminary Academy who will select future awardees. The EYIF President is the youngest Innovation Luminary to join the prestigious group of Innovation Luminaries :

  • Innovation Thought Leadership awarded to Richard Straub, The Peter Drucker Society, Europe;
  • Innovation and Entrepreneurship to Richard Branson, founder, Virgin\Open Innovation to Henry Chesbrough, UC Berkeley;
  • Social Innovation to Bill Drayton & Ashoka
  • Innovation Catalyst to Veli-Pekka Niitamo, posthumous
  • Serial Entrepreneurship to The Ryan Family
  • Irish Innovation Champion to Louise Phelan, Vice President of Global Operations, Paypal

“I am deeply honoured and humbled to be a recipient of this award and to be a part of this august company of innovation luminaries. I am conscious of my role and responsibility as both the youngest-ever recipient of this award and the first-everYoung Innovation Champion, and will endeavour to fulfil them wholeheartedly. This award is a recognition of the tireless efforts of the entire EYIF team in building a more innovative and entrepreneurial Europe. It will certainly help us continue to build a strong innovation ecosystem in Europe to achieve our vision of a Europe for StartUps 2020, strengthening the achievements of our #InnoYear”


*Official Press Release*